Nolte Given MVC State Farm Good Neighbor Award
Jeanette Nolte
Jeanette Nolte

March 13, 2012

ST. LOUIS - Illinois State junior swimmer Jeanette Nolte was one of 10 student-athletes honored with the Missouri Valley Conference State Farm Good Neighbor Award for the 2012 winter season, as announced by MVC Commissioner Doug Elgin Tuesday.

In an effort to honor the achievements of exceptional student-athletes, the Missouri Valley Conference, in partnership with State Farm, created the award and recognizes 10 student-athletes three times annually (fall, winter, spring), for a total of 30 honorees.

In order to be eligible for the award, the student-athlete must be in good academic standing, must demonstrate good citizenship through good sportsmanship and significant community service, and must participate in a sport, during the season of recognition. Nolte was named a 2012 MVC First-Team All-Conference selection in the pool for the Redbirds, after she swam to a third-place finish in the 200-yard butterfly (2:04.83) at the 2012 State Farm MVC Swimming & Diving Championship in February. The Naperville, Ill., native also tied for first place in the B-final (24.13) of the 50-yard freestyle event at the championships. In addition to her standout performances in the water, Nolte has excelled in the classroom and the community.



A management major at Illinois State, Nolte carries a 3.06 cumulative grade point average and has been a member of the AFNI Honor Roll three times during her career. Nolte also participated in the "Just Read!" program at local elementary schools, was a Recess Buddies participant and was a member of the Best Buddies program, which pairs student-athletes with young adults with special needs.

Joining Nolte as winter winners are Charonn Woods of Bradley (Men's Basketball, Sr.); Matthew Dorwart of Creighton (Men's Basketball, Sr.); Sarah Yeager of Drake (Women's Indoor Track, Jr.); Colt Ryan of Evansville (Men's Basketball, Jr.); Andrea Rademacher of Indiana State (Women's Basketball, Jr.); Christiana Shorter of Missouri State (Women's Basketball, Jr.); Chelsea Hartman of Northern Iowa (Swimming & Diving, Sr.); Harry Whitt of Southern Illinois (Men's Basketball, Fr.); and Jaclyn Abrahamian of Wichita State (Women's Indoor Track & Field, So.).

State Farm Insurance is a long-time sponsor of the Missouri Valley Conference and serves as title sponsor for all 18 MVC championship events. Also, State Farm is a prominent sponsor of the league's television network and a sponsor of the Missouri Valley Conference's community outreach program, "Just Read!". Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.