Tejada, McCabe Highlight MVC Soccer Awards Banquet
Rachel Tejada

Rachel Tejada

Nov. 3, 2011

Photo Gallery

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - Ten Illinois State soccer players were honored by the Missouri Valley Conference at the annual awards banquet Thursday evening in Springfield, Mo. Freshman Rachel Tejada was named the league's Most Valuable Player and Freshman of the Year, while senior Natalie McCabe received Defensive Player of the Year accolades.

Senior Jessica Carlson and sophomore Anna Stinson joined McCabe and Tejada on the All-MVC First Team. Tejada led the Valley with 42 points on 18 goals and six assists, established a new ISU record for points in a season and became just the second freshman to be named the league's Most Valuable Player. Carlson, a three-time All-MVC First Team selection, recorded 20 points on six goals and a single-season record eight assists. Stinson finished the regular season with 17 points on five goals and seven assists, ranking in the top five in the MVC in all three categories. McCabe led the Illinois State defense to four shutouts and a 1.16 goals against average and is now a two-time All-MVC First Team selection.

Junior Kristin Cooley and sophomore Kyla Cross received All-MVC Second Team recognition. Cooley helped the ISU defense record four shutouts and a 1.16 goals against average, while scoring a pair of goals and recording three assists. Cross ranked fourth on the team in scoring and sixth in the Valley with 14 points on four goals and six assists.

Junior Rachel Bostick was named All-MVC Honorable Mention after accumulating seven points on three goals and an assist.

Illinois State freshmen claimed four spots of the 12 on the MVC All-Freshman Team, as Tejada was joined by Gabbi McArtor, Aryn Newsom and Aimee Wronski. McArtor has been a key defender for the Redbirds throughout the season, appearing in all 16 games and making seven starts. Newsom was ISU's top goalkeeper, recording 57 saves and posting a 1.18 goals against average in her 1140 minutes between the posts. Wronski tallied four points on a goal and a pair of assists and made 11 starts in her first season as a Redbird.

The Illinois State coaching staff of head coach Drew Roff, assistant coach Jim Schneiderhahn and graduate assist coach Julie Hanley received Coaching Staff of the Year honors to cap the evening. Roff has guided ISU to four regular-season championships in his five seasons at the helm of the program, including a 2009 State Farm MVC Tournament title and an appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

Illinois State opens Valley Tournament play Friday afternoon against No. 4 seed Evansville. Kickoff is scheduled for 3:30 p.m., at the Cooper Family Soccer Complex.

GoRedbirds.com: Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.