Redbirds Set to Compete in NCAA Central Regional

May 8, 2013

Tournament Central

NORMAL, Ill. - Coming off of its fifth Missouri Valley Conference Championship title in six seasons, the Illinois State women's golf team will compete in the three-day, 54-hole NCAA Central Regional at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman, Okla., May 9-11.

"It is such a great atmosphere for this team to be here with some of the best teams in college golf, and we are looking forward to begin competing," head coach Darby Slighsaid.

Each round will begin with 7:30 a.m. tee times and will consist of 18 holes. Live scoring will be available at, with coverage to follow each round.

The MVC champion-lineup of Katie Jean, Rachel Powers, Jordyn Wyzgowski, Hayley Guyton and Carlee Cossellwill represent ISU at the Central Regional.

Illinois State's conference victory marked the 13th time the Redbirds have won a MVC Championship. Jean ended her dominant season in fitting fashion by finishing the three-round tournament atop the individual leaderboard with a score of 233 (77-74-82). With her second-consecutive individual championship, Jean became the sixth player in Valley history to win the award twice.

Cossell will tee off Thursday at 12:55 p.m., with Wyzgowski to follow at 1:06 p.m., Guyton at 1:17 p.m., Powers at 1:28 p.m. and Jean at 1:39 p.m. The Redbirds are paired up with Butler and Detroit for the first round.



The Redbirds (22) will be competing against Duke (1), Oklahoma (2), Florida (3), Washington (4), Arizona State (5), California-Davis (6), Texas Tech (7), North Carolina State (8), Michigan State (9), Iowa State (10), Southern Methodist (11), Campbell (12), Coastal Carolina (13), Wake Forest (14), Texas Christian (15), Gonzaga (16), Indiana (17), Texas-San Antonio (18), Mississippi State (19), Wisconsin (20), Lamar (21), Detroit (23) and Butler (24).

"The keys to this week are staying patient, focusing on the things we can control like attitude and mindset and playing without fear," Sligh said. "We need to put it all on the line."

Illinois State will be the only team to represent the Missouri Valley Conference in the NCAA Regionals.

The individuals competing include Fanny Cnops (North Carolina-Greensboro), Lori Beth Adams (North Carolina-Wilmington), Emma Henrikson (San Diego State), Julia Roth (Central Arkansas), Paige Spiranic (San Diego State) and Chrstine Wong (San Diego State).

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championship finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional. The championship finals will be held May 21-24 at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga., and will be hosted by Georgia. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, WSF gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.