ISU Women's Basketball Celebrates the 2012-13 Season

April 26, 2013

NORMAL, Ill. - The Illinois State women's basketball team gathered for a private end of the year banquet Thursday evening to celebrate the 2012-13 season. The annual event featured year-end awards.

Illinois State recorded its sixth 20-plus wins season in the last seven years, as the Redbirds ended the season with an overall record of 24-11, posting a 13-5 effort in Missouri Valley Conference play, and advanced to the WNIT for the fifth-consecutive season.

Several team awards were presented, including statistical awards. Four players were recognized for leading the team in different statistical categories during the year. Maddie Oliver had the team's best field goal percentage (58.2), Alexis Foley had the best free throw percentage (84.6), Janae Smith was the top rebounder (8.0 rpg), while Alexis Jenkinsrecorded the best three-point field goal percentage (33.3) and assist-to-turnover ratio (1.8).

The Best Offensive Player Award was given to Smith, who ranked second on the team in scoring (13.6) and led the Redbirds with 119 made free throws and was second on the team in made field goals with 178. She scored in double figures in 26 games and scored a career-high 31 points against Memphis (Nov. 18, 2012). Jamie Russellreceived the Best Defensive Player Award. She led the Redbirds in steals with 92, which puts her in a tie for fifth place on the all-time steals list in a single season and ranked fourth on the team in rebounds (5.2 rpg).

On the offensive side of the ball, Russell was the team's leading scorer with 14.1 points per game. Through 35 games, she tallied double-digit performances in 25 games, including nine-straight games with a double-digit scoring effort.



Russell, an All-Valley First Team member, All-Defensive Team selection and a Valley Scholar-Athlete selection, started every game for the Redbirds during the 2012-13 season. For her efforts on both sides of the ball, Russell earned the Most Valuable Player honors for the 2012-13 season.

Russell and Alison Seberger were both given the Best Teammate Awards for a starter and non-starter, respectively. Brianna Puni received the Most Improved Award for being the player who improved the most from the start of the season. Chloe Nelsonwas given the Redbird Award for the third-straight season, which is given to a player who best represents Redbird women's basketball in the classroom, on the court and in the community. She is always willing to give her time and help in any area. This person has a servant's heart and a willingness to go above and beyond what is asked of her.

Nelson also received the Hustle Award and was awarded the annual Jill Hutchison Leadership Award, which is given to a player who exemplifies all of the characteristics of a Redbird women's basketball player. The award is in honor of Hutchison, the former Redbird women's coach and Women's Basketball Hall of Fame member.

2012-13 Illinois State Women's Basketball Awards

Most Valuable Player:  Jamie Russell
Best Offensive Player: Janae Smith
Best Defensive Players: Jamie Russell
Jill Hutchison Leadership Award: Chloe Nelson
Hustle Award: Chloe Nelson
Best Teammates: Jamie Russell and Alison Seberger
Most Improved Player: Brianna Puni
Redbird Award: Chloe Nelson Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, WSF gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.