Aussieker Named To Mitchell Award Watch List
Nick Aussieker
Nick Aussieker

July 30, 2013

CHICAGO - Illinois State junior placekicker Nick Aussieker continues to garner pre-season accolades, as he was selected as a member of the 2013 Fred Mitchell Outstanding Place-Kicker Award (also known as the Fred Mitchell Award) Watch List Tuesday.

The Watch List for the Fred Mitchell Award includes 34 Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II, III, National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) collegiate place-kickers that were nominated by their colleges for excellence on the football field and in the community. The award is named for Fred Mitchell, the record-setting place-kicker, Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Famer, author, philanthropist and Chicago Tribune sports columnist.

"It is a pleasure to include these fine young men on the Watch List for this Award," Mitchell said in a statement. "We are delighted to recognize them based on outstanding performance in the community and expectations going into the 2013 college football season. It is also a thrill to see so many familiar names on the Watch List, including 17 finalists and three place-kickers that were among the 10 for the award last season."

Aussieker was a 2012 Fred Mitchell Award Finalist and appeared in all 13 games for the Redbirds, making 11-of-13 field goal attempts. The Wildwood, Mo., native was a perfect 4-for-4 on field goal attempts between 40-49 yards and successfully converted 46-of-49 extra point tries. He was also very involved in the community, working with his teammates as volunteers at Illinois Special Olympics and digging trenches for the Humane Society of Central Illinois.



Earlier this summer, Aussieker earned a spot on the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Placekicker Award, which honors the top individual kicker award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Top performers will be recognized monthly during the college football season for the Fred Mitchell Award, and the winner is announced in mid-December. The school of the Award winner receives scholarship funds and the Fred Mitchell Award trophy will be presented each February at the National Football Foundation Chicago Metro Chapter Awards Ceremony at Halas Hall. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.