Wright Named To CFPA Punter Watch List

June 28, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Illinois State senior punter Patrick Wright has earned a spot on the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Punter Award, which was recently announced by the organization. 

"Congratulations to Illinois State punter Patrick Wright on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith said. "Wright enters his senior season at Illinois State as one of hte nation's ost experienced punters."

The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning punters, vying for the top individual kicker award in the Football Championship Subdivision. All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Wright saw action in all 13 games for the Redbrids in 2012, averaging 40.4 yards-per-punt on 73 attempts. He landed 25 punts inside the opponent's 20 yard line and tallied 11 punts for more than 50 yards. 



More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL placekickers include: Alex Henery (Nebraska), Blair Walsh (Georgia), Caleb Sturgis (Florida), Randy Bullock (Texas A&M), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), David Buehler (USC), Brandon McManus (Temple), Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State), Zach Brown (Portland State), Patrick Murray (Fordham), and Adi Kunalic (Nebraska).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

GoRedbirds.com: Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.