Underwood Named To CFPA Defensive Linemen Watch List
Colton Underwood
Colton Underwood

June 3, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Illinois State senior defensive lineman Colton Underwood has earned a spot on the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Defensive Linemen Award, which was recently announced by the organization.

The preliminary watch list highlights 38 returning performers, vying for the top individual defensive linemen award in the Football Championship Subdivision. All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

"Congratulations 2012 CFPA Defensive End Award winner Colton Underwood on earning a psot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List" said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Underwood will be one of the top players to watch in his senior season at Illinois State."

Underwood was named the 2012 CFPA Defensive End Award winner. The Washington, Ill., native appeared in all 13 games for the Redbirds last season, making 12 starts. He earned First-Team All-America status by The Walter Camp Football Foundation, The Associated Press and The Sports Network. A First-Team All-Missouri Valley Football Conference selection, Underwood led the MVFC in sacks (10.5) and tackles-for-loss (19.5). He tallied 95 total tackles and added six multiple tackles-for-loss performances. Underwood registered one sack and had six tackles in a second-round FCS playoff win at Applachian State.



Currently, more more than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Past CFPA winners include: Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Alex Henery (Nebraska), Earl Thomas (Texas), and Patrick Peterson (LSU).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

GoRedbirds.com: Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.