O'Shaughnessy Named To CFPA Tight End Watch List
James O'Shaughnessy

James O'Shaughnessy

May 29, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Illinois State junior tight end James O'Shaughnessy has earned a spot on the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Tight End Award, which was recently announced by the organization.

The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning performers, vying for the top individual tight end award in the Football Championship Subdivision. All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Last season, Illinois State defensive end Colton Underwood earned the 2012 CFPA Defensive End Award.

"Congratulations to James O'Shaughnessy on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Coach Brock Spack has an excellent weapon at tight end for 2013."



O'Shaughnessy started all 13 games at tight end for the Redbirds in 2012 and caught 19 passes for 403 yards with three touchdowns. The Naperville, Ill., native averaged 21.2 yards-per-reception and caught the game-winning 25-yard touchdown pass in overtime to secure the win at Appalachian State and help ISU advance to the quarterfinals of the FCS playoffs. He finished that game with three grabs for 78 yards and recorded a pair of touchdown catches and followed that up with three receptions for 63 yards in the quarterfinal game at Eastern Washington.

As a redshirt freshman in 2011, O'Shaughnessy was a Missouri Valley Football Conference All-Newcomer Team selection and was named to the College Sports Journal All-Freshman Team.

Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Past CFPA winners include: Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Alex Henery (Nebraska), Earl Thomas (Texas), and Patrick Peterson (LSU).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

GoRedbirds.com: Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.