The Reggies Lights Up Redbird Arena
Chad Hinshaw and Katie Jean
Chad Hinshaw and Katie Jean

Oct. 21, 2012

The Reggies

NORMAL, Ill. - The Reggies, sponsored by State Farm Insurance, a ceremony celebrating the academic achievements, was held at Redbird Arena Sunday. All student-athletes who were named to the AFNI Athletics Honor Roll during the 2011-12 school year were recognized and several special academic achievement awards were presented to student-athletes throughout the evening.

Baseball player Chad Hinshawreceived the Doug Collins Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. A native of Bloomington, Ill., Hinshaw is working towards a bachelor's degree in health education. He has served on the Student-Athlete Advisory Council as a member of the Athletic Council since 2010. In addition to his involvement in the Illinois State SAAC, he was elected as the SAAC representative to the Missouri Valley Conference. Hinshaw was a Valley Scholar-Athlete First-Team selection following the 2011-12 season and has been on the AFNI honor roll every semester of his college career.

During the 2011-12 season, the centerfielder appeared in 51 games, making 50 starts. He led the team with a .442 on-base percentage, with a team-high 40 walks. Hinshaw also paced the team with 43 runs scored and stole 23-of-26 bases. Hinshaw was also solid in the field, as he was error-free on defense. At the end of the season, Hinshaw was named to the MVC All-Tournament Team.

The male scholar-athlete of the year award is named after Redbird basketball legend Doug Collins, who was an All-American in 1972 and went on to a successful playing, coaching and broadcasting career in the NBA. The other nominees for the Doug Collins Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award were Jon Ekey (men's basketball), Parker Freiburg(men's golf), John Navarro (cross country) and Alexander Peleaz (men's tennis).



Women's golfer Katie Jeanreceived the Linda Herman Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. Jean earned All-Valley recognition, after winning individual medalist honors at the 2012 Valley Tournament. The senior won the individual title with a four-over-par score of 220 (74-74-72). Jean is a two-time MVC Elite 18 Award winner and was named to the MVC Scholar-Athlete First Team, but her academic honors didn't stop there, as the Rantoul, Ill., native was named a NGCA All-American Scholar and to the Capital One Division I Academic All-District Women's At-Large Team.

Jean is a three-year member of the Illinois State SAAC group and serves as the community service coordinator. Jean is a three-time Valley Golfer of the Week selection and has recorded five-straight, top-10 finishes so far during the 2012-13 season. Jean was a member of two Valley championship teams (2010 and 2011).

The female scholar-athlete of the year award is named after longtime Illinois State coach and administrator Dr. Linda Herman, who spent more than 30 years at ISU as a volleyball coach and administrator. The other nominees for the Linda Herman Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award were Jenna Bossle (gymnastics), Jess Carlson (soccer), Hannah Esker (women's tennis), Chloe Nelson (women's basketball), Angela Rego (volleyball), Danielle Schumacher (swimming and diving), Elise Sigg (cross country/track and field) and Megan Warner (softball).

The Impact Award was also presented to women's golfer Katie Jean. The award is given to a student-athlete who embodies a commitment to excellence and has a desire to make an impact on the lives of others with outstanding leadership skills, commitment to academics and service to the community.

The Phoenix Award was presented to women's basketball player Candace Sykes. The award is given to an individual who has overcome academic challenges and has made consistent academic progress over their scholastic careers.

The Good Neighbor Award went to women's golfer Katie Jean. The award is presented to a student-athlete who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to excellence in academics, service to others and personal conduct. The individual also volunteers to assists fellow student-athletes in their endeavors to achieve their academic goals. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.