Redbirds Head to Terre Haute for Pre-Nationals
Sean Senf

Sean Senf

Oct. 18, 2013

TERRE HAUTE, Ind.—The Illinois State men’s and women’s cross country teams head to Terre Haute, Ind., to compete in Pre-Nationals at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course. The men’s 8K is set for 11 a.m., with the women’s 6K to follow at 11:40 a.m.

The race will see 26 ranked teams between the men’s and women’s races, featuring three of the nation’s top-four men’s teams and the past two women’s national champions. Top-10 teams include No. 1 Oklahoma State, No. 2 Colorado, No. 4 Oregon, No. 9 Tulsa and No. 10 Princeton on the men’s side, and on the women’s side, No. 2 Florida State, No. 5 Georgetown and No. 6 Oregon will toe the starting line with the Redbirds.

With the Midwest Regional and Missouri Valley Conference championship approaching, this race is a key opportunity for head-to-head victories for an at-large consideration.

ISU will send Jeff Bajema, Dave Eckhart, Jesse Hahne, Tyler Morse, Ryan Rutherford, Sean Senf and Paul Steeno.

Rutherford looks to lead the Redbirds after coming off a 16th-place finish at the nationally-renown Roy Griak Invitational (Sept. 25, capturing an 8K time of 24:26, only 20 seconds behind top-place finisher Tyler Thatcher of BYU.

Illinois State will send Rachael Brewer, Kim Christensen, Ellen Devereux, Haley Goers, Kelly McShea, Kaley Ummel and Kristen Zillmer to the starting line.



Brewer will look to lead the women’s team after finishing 25th at the Griak Invitational. Brewer was first to finish for the Redbirds, notching a 6K time of 21:33 in a competitive field of 300.

The Redbirds will be sending the remaining members of the team to Peoria, Ill., Friday, to compete in the Bradley Classic.

Aidan Askin, Marcelo Burbano, Ryan Bybee, Brendan Hoskins, Scott Janusick and Travis Trevizo will compete in an 8K beginning at 4:25 p.m.

Krista DeCeault, Sammi Donovan, Ashley Kamin, Jackie Mink, Kimi Sanden and Haley Verbeke will compete for the women in a 6K at 5:05 p.m.

Fans can follow the Redbirds throughout the course of the meet on and on Twitter via @ISU_Track_XC. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.