Cross Country Travels to Peoria for Bradley Classic
Elise Sigg and Rachael Brewer
Elise Sigg and Rachael Brewer

Oct. 11, 2012

NORMAL, Ill. - The Illinois State men's and women's cross country teams head west on I-74 to compete in the ninth-running of the Bradley Classic Friday afternoon at the Newman Golf Course. The men's 8,000-meter championship race begins at 4:25 p.m., with the women's 6,000-meter championship to follow at 5:05 p.m.

The Newman Golf Course is a United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) certified course and has hosted several Missouri Valley Conference and NCAA Midwest Regional Championships. The course consists of two 2,000-meter loops. The first 2,000-meter loop is run once and is mostly flat. The second loop consists of rolling hills and will be run three times for the men's 8,000-meter race.

The Redbirds head into the meet with well-rested legs, as both teams haven't competed since the Griak Invitational on September 29. On the women's side, Rachael Brewer and Elise Sigg enter the meet with two of the top-five fastest times in the Valley at the 5,000- and 6,000-meter distances. Brewer ranks first in the MVC in the 6K with a time of 21:37.0, and second in the 5K behind Wichita State's Aliphine Tuliamuk, posting a time of 17:22 at Illinois State's lone home meet of the season.

Sigg enters the competition with the third-fastest time (22:42.0) in the 6,000-meter and the fifth-fastest time in the 5,000-meter (17:49). Throughout the course of the season, 11 women have set and/or reset personal-best marks. Other women that will be included in the starting box are Sarah Castel, Kim Christensen, Ellen Devereux, Meghan Duggan, Ashley Kamin, Kelly McShea, Kimi Sanden and Kaley Ummel.



On the men's side, sophomore Ryan Rutherford has paced the Redbirds thus far, holding the fifth-fastest time in the Valley at the 8,000-meter distance (24:25) and finishing as the team's No. 1 runner in all the meets he has started. Tyler Morse has been a consistent No. 2 for Illinois State, holding a personal-best 8,000-meter time of 25:36. Other men that will take to the starting line are Aidan Askin, Grant Grimshaw, Scott Janusick, Andrew Sandoval and D.J. Taylor.

Fans can follow the Redbirds throughout the course of the meet on and on Twitter via @ISU_Track_XC. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, TRC gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.