Glover Makes Third Watch-List for The Bowerman Award
Tim Glover
Tim Glover

March 13, 2013

NEW ORLEANS - For the third-consecutive time, senior javelin thrower Tim Glover remains on the third installment of The Bowerman Award Men's Watch List announced Wednesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). He is one of six student-athletes to carry over from the second watch-list released, which was announced at the end of February.

Glover is the only member of the watch list who is yet to compete this year, and is set to make his season debut at the UCF Invitational March 22-23, in Orlando, Fla.

The two-time defending NCAA Division I National Champion in the javelin was named a semifinalist for the award a year ago, after throwing a career-, Valley- and Illinois State-best 268-00 (81.69m) at the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships. The No. 9 performer all-time in the NCAA was also named the 2012 NCAA Division I National Men's Field Athlete of the Year for the outdoor track & field season, which is voted on by the nation's head coaches. Prior to that, he was dubbed the Midwest Region Men's Field Athlete of the Year and the Missouri Valley Conference Most Outstanding Field Athlete.

After the collegiate season, Glover took on the nation's best throwers at the 2012 United States Olympic Track & Field Trials, where he finished sixth with a throw of 250-00 (76.20m). He then traveled down to Mexico to represent the United States at the 2012 North American Central American and Caribbean (NACAC) Under-23 Championships, where he won gold with a throw of 256-10 (78.28m).

In 2012, the Normal, Ill., native was the top-ranked thrower in the collegiate ranks, finishing with a world ranking of No. 41. He won his third-straight Missouri Valley Conference javelin title, and was named the 2012 Illinois State Milt Weisbecker Male Athlete of Year. Glover was the first Illinois State track & field athlete to be named a semifinalist for the award, and is the first to earn preseason mention.



The 2013 Men's Bowerman Watch List honorees are as follows:

Marquis Dendy (Florida); Derek Drouin (Indiana); Tim Glover (Illinois State); Andrew Irwin (Arkansas); Kennedy Kithuka (Texas Tech); Erik Kynard (Kansas State); Lawi Lalang (Arizona); Kevin Lazas (Arkansas); Eddie Lovett (Florida); Ameer Webb (Texas A&M).

The Bowerman debuted in 2009 and is presented annually by the USTFCCCA. It is named for the legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach, Bill Bowerman, who served the sport of track & field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA's predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track & field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, TRC gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.