University Awards

Bone Scholar Award

The Bone Scholarship, the highest university-wide honor given to undergraduate students, includes a monetary award from the Bone Scholarship endowment. The scholarship is named in honor of the late Robert G. Bone, president of Illinois State University from 1956-67.

Bone Scholars are selected through a rigorous campus-wide competition on the basis of their scholarly achievements and their engagement and leadership in activities in the university community and beyond.

Invited finalists submit a comprehensive portfolio including several essays and statements, a project, and five letters of recommendation. The mean grade point average of this year's Bone Scholars is 3.92 on a 4.0 scale.

1971 Tom Hanson Wrestling
1980 Beth Landes W. Basketball
1984 Jackie Kemper Volleyball
1985 Nancy Harris Track & Field
1992 Carmon Hulit Softball
1995 Mary Jane Johnson W. Basketball
1997 Dan Muller M. Basketball
1997 Kristi Geary Volleyball
1998 Valerie Trame W. Basketball
1999 Kress Shores W. Tennis
2000 Greg Morgan M. Golf
2000 Andrea Lovelle Swimming & Diving
2000 Stacia Beste Track & Field/Cross Country
2001 Adam Waugh Football
2001 Deborah Birrer Swimming and Diving
2002 Mark Moellering Track & Field
2003 Abbie Scott Softball
2005 Ryan Brown M. Golf
2009 Erin Lindsey Volleyball
2011 Caitlin Kopp Softball
2011 Olivia Myers Track & Field
2011 Polly Hirt Swimming & Diving