ISU Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees Announced

Oct. 16, 2012

NORMAL, Ill. - The student-athletes at Illinois State are celebrated not only for their athletic achievements, but also ¬for their academic successes. In that spirit, 14 Illinois State student-athletes have been nominated for the scholar-athlete of the year awards. The awards will be presented at the 13th-annual Reggies sponsored by State Farm Insurance, Sunday, Oct. 21, in Redbird Arena.

The male scholar-athlete of the year award is named after Redbird basketball legend Doug Collins. During his three years at ISU, Collins averaged nearly 30 points per game and was a Consensus All-America selection in 1973. A member of the 1972 U.S. Olympic Team, Collins was a No. 1 draft pick of the Philadelphia 76ers and enjoyed a nine-year career in the NBA. He has served as head coach of the Chicago Bulls, Detroit Pistons and Washington Wizards. He is currently the head coach of the 76ers.

The nominees are Jon Ekey (men's basketball), Parker Freiburg¬ (men's golf), Chad Hinshaw (baseball), John Navarro (cross country) and Alexander Peleaz (men's tennis).

The female scholar-athlete of the year award is named after longtime Illinois State coach and administrator Dr. Linda Herman. A pioneer in women's athletics, Herman amassed 30 years of dedicated service at ISU as a volleyball coach and interim athletics director. During her tenure at ISU, the Redbirds won 117 Missouri Valley Conference titles and 16 conference all-sports trophies.

This year's nominees are Jenna Bossle (gymnastics), Jess Carlson (soccer), Hannah Esker (women's tennis), Katie Jean (women's golf), Chloe Nelson (women's basketball), Angela Rego (volleyball), Danielle Schumacher (swimming and diving), Elise Sigg (cross country/track and field) and Megan Warner (softball). Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.