Athletics News
The Reggies Lights Up Redbird Arena

Oct. 23, 2011

NORMAL, Ill. - The Reggies, sponsored by State Farm Insurance, a ceremony celebrating the academic achievements, was held at Redbird Arena Sunday. All of the student-athletes who were named to the AFNI Athletics Honor Roll during the 2010-11 school year were recognized and several special academic achievement awards were presented to student-athletes throughout the evening.

Former track distance runner Scott Krapf received the Doug Collins Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award for the third-consecutive year. A native of Danville, Ill., Krapf graduated in May with a master's degree in sport management and a 4.0 cumulative grade-point average. At Illinois State, he served on the Student-Athlete Advisory Council as president and was a member of the Athletic Council. In addition to his tenure as president of the Illinois State SAAC, this January he assumed the role as the Chair of the Division I National SAAC.

In June, he was named a Capital One Academic All-American and was also awarded the Valley Emerson Excellence Award and the MVC's Dr. Charlotte West Scholar-Athlete Award, which is presented annually to a student-athlete who epitomizes the principles of academic achievement, athletic excellence, service and leadership. During the outdoor season, he qualified for the NCAA West Regional in the 10,000-meter run, finishing in 32nd place with a time of 30:05.94.

The male scholar-athlete of the year award is named after Redbird basketball legend Doug Collins, who was an All-American in 1972 and went on to a successful playing, coaching and broadcasting career in the NBA. The other nominees for the Doug Collins Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award were Eric Brunner (football), Ryan Court (baseball), Jon Ekey (basketball), Jeff Kellen (golf) and Filip Miljevic (tennis).

Women's diver Polly Hirt received the Linda Herman Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. Hirt earned honorable mention All-Valley recognition at the end of the 2010-11 season after a stellar year. She earned a season-best score on the 3-meter board with a mark of 234. 75 against Northern Iowa. She also recorded a personal-best mark on the 1-meter board in the same meet with a score of 224.10. At the 2011 State Farm Missouri Valley Conference Swimming and Diving Championships, Hirt finished seventh with a score of 205.70 and helped lead her team to a second-place finish.

Hirt achieved a 4.0 GPA in the spring semester in the competitive nursing program and was named to the MVC Scholar-Athlete First Team and was awarded scholastic honors at the 2010-11 team awards banquet. She is also a 2011-12 Illinois State Bone Scholar, the highest academic honor at ISU.

The female scholar-athlete of the year award is named after longtime Illinois State coach and administrator Dr. Linda Herman, who spent more than 30 years at ISU as a volleyball coach and administrator. The other nominees for the Linda Herman Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award were Afton Delvecchio (soccer), Hannah Deutsch (gymnastics), Hannah Esker (tennis), Katie Jean (golf), Caiti Kopp (softball) and Mallory Leggett (volleyball).

The Impact Award was also presented to cross country/track and field runner John Navarro. The award is given to a student-athlete who embodies a commitment to excellence and has a desire to make an impact on the lives of others with outstanding leadership skills, commitment to academics and service to the community.

The Phoenix Award was presented to women's swimmer Sarah Rendek. The award is given to an individual who has overcome academic challenges and has made consistent academic progress over their scholastic careers.

The Good Neighbor Award went to women's track and field student-athlete Becky Anderson. The award is presented to a student-athlete who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to excellence in academics, service to others and personal conduct. The individual also volunteers to assists fellow student-athletes in their endeavors to achieve their academic goals. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.