Athletics News
Smith, Glover Named 2012-13 Athletes of the Year

Aug 18, 2013

Walk of Champions Photo Gallery

NORMAL, Ill. - At the 13th-annual Walk of Champions Sunday evening, former track and field throwers Tim Glover and Brittany Smith received the Illinois State Athlete of the Year awards for the 2012-13 season. Glover received the Milt Weisbecker Male Athlete of the Year Award and Smith received the Jill HutchisonFemale Athlete of the Year Award at the event, which welcomes new Redbird student-athletes to campus. Glover and Smith are the first duo in ISU Athletics history to win the prestigious honor of athlete of the year for three years in a row.

Glover came into the national spotlight during his sophomore season, launched even further on the scene as a junior, and was a well-known name by his senior season. Glover finished as the runner up in the javelin throw at the NCAA Track and Field Championships with a throw of 247-06 in stiff and swirling winds. Glover ended his Redbird career with two NCAA Division I National Titles in the javelin and was a three-time All-American. During his senior campaign, Glover was named the Valley's Field Athlete of the Week three times, including two-consecutive weeks. Those accolades added to his fourth-straight Missouri Valley Conference title, as well as his third-straight Valley Most Outstanding Field Athlete award.

The other five male nominees wer¬e Jackie Carmichael (men's basketball), Wils Hawn (men's golf), Alexander Pelaez (men's tennis), Chris Razo (baseball) and Colton Underwood(football).

The male athlete of the year award is named for Weisbecker, the former athletics director who led Illinois State through times of change from 1966 to 1974. As athletics director, he successfully led the university's athletic program from the NCAA College Division into Division I status. Additionally, Weisbecker had an outstanding record in seven seasons as the Redbird's head golf coach, including a fourth-place NCAA College Division finish in 1969.

In the 2012-13 season alone, Smith notched 35 top-five finishes, including 22 first-place finishes and was a four-time All-American. She has 10 All-America honors at the NCAA Track and Field Championships, including two runner-up finishes at the 2013 NCAA Championships in the hammer throw and shot put. During her senior campaign, Smith won her first Missouri Valley Conference outdoor title with a throw of 218-10 in the hammer throw. Her performance helped the women's team receive a No. 25 ranking in the national polls.

In the indoor season, Smith won the conference title in the shot put with a throw of 56-9.25 and was in the top-three collegiate throws in the hammer throw, shot put and weight throw. Between the 2012-13 indoor and outdoor season, Smith was named the Valley's Field Athlete of the Week five times. She holds every Illinois State throwing record, expect for the discus throw, where she ranks No. 2.

The other seven female nominees were Katie Jean (women's golf), Elizabeth Kay (softball), Sami King (gymnastics), Ashley Rosch (volleyball), Jamie Russell (women's basketball), Rachel Tejada (soccer) and Wenting Zhang(Diving).

The female athlete of the year award is named in honor of Hutchison, who retired from coaching women's basketball in 1999 after racking up 461 wins in 28 seasons at Illinois State. Now a radio and television analyst for Redbird broadcasts, Hutchison was a pioneer and advocate for women in athletics throughout her coaching career. A banner in her honor hangs from the Redbird Arenarafters, and she was inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2009. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.