Athletics News
ISU Seeks To Regain Naismith Student Section of the Year Award

January 22, 2014

NORMAL, Ill. – The 2014 Naismith Student Section of the Year has returned and ISU is in the running again to be awarded as one of the top college basketball student sections in the country. With the votes of Redbird fans, Red Alert could be named the Naismith Student Sections of the Year for the Missouri Valley Conference for the second-straight year.  

First Round voting is open now and will conclude February 5, at 10:59 p.m. CST. Fans can vote online at, on Facebook ( or on Twitter by using #RockIllinoisStcolors and #BestStudentSection in the tweet. Redbird fans can vote once per day for Red Alert as the top-student section in college basketball.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), an affiliate of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.

“College basketball student sections showcase the emotion, energy, and passion that define what it means for a team to truly have a home court advantage, and we want to celebrate that,” added Catherine Gammon, senior vice president of brand development for CLC. “We encourage all fans to vote to cast their vote and ensure their favorite school gets recognized for the spirit they display in supporting their team.”

"It's a great opportunity to showcase Red Alert as the best student section in the Missouri Valley Conference, said Director of Fan Experience Drew Claassen. “They bring passion and energy to Redbird Arena for every game and play a huge factor in our home court advantage.  We want to encourage all our fans to vote early and often to show their support for Red Alert."

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award will be determined through two rounds of public votes, combined with a scoring of finalists by the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors, which will review criteria such as the student section’s name and attendance, as well as photos, video, and a write-up submitted by the nominating school. Complete details on the selection process can be found at

The winning student section gets bragging rights and receives $10,000 to be used in its general scholarship fund. 

Last year’s basketball season marked the second Naismith Student Section of the Year Award contest, with Virginia Commonwealth (VCU) serving as the official winner of the 2013 competition. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.